Breakfast Special – Granola Recipe

19 Jan

by Contributing Writer Laura Hewetson

Can’t find a muesli that isn’t full of sugar and sodium!?

I had the same issue, so have finally started making my own!

There are so many recipes out there, but have found my mom’s to be the best!

granolaSo….I start with 1kg of rolled Oats I then add almonds, cashews, chopped wall nuts, hazelnuts, coconut flakes and desiccated coconut, sunflower seeds, pumpkin seeds(amount always varies on the day as it depends on the price of the nuts! But I aim of about a ½-1 cup of each 😉 )so just add a good amount so you have a yummy mouth full!

Then add ¼ cup of grape seed oil (I use this as it doesn’t have a strong flavour) and ¼ cup of  honey(for a bit of sweetness, add more if you prefer it sweeter, but I also add dried fruit later). Mix it all up until everything is well coated, then stick in the oven at about 150C.

Turn mixture every 10 mins or so so that everything is gets a bit if a roast. I like my muesli well browned and crunchy, so it takes about 30-40 minutes.

While muesli is in the oven browning, chop up some dried fruit (I usually have apricots,dates and mango). Again as much as you like, I normal have about a cup full of the above combined.

Once the muesli comes out of the oven I add the above fruit, as well as 2 cup of each of the following: all bran flakes, plain rice puffs, cornflakes, raisins / sultanas and honey puffs. (Again, be as creative as you like! 😉 )

Mix it all up and let it cool down before storing in your breakfast container(s).

This will probably end up being about 3 Kg of granola, so plenty to keep you going for a couple of weeks!

It is pretty morish though, so it may just be gone in no time! 🙂

like us on facebook

Mumsibles Banner

 

Leave a Reply

