For that sweet craving…

30 Dec

I have a confession to make. I have a bad sweet tooth. Yes. A pretty bad one. I LOVE CHOCOLATES. There was a time I gave in to my cravings and I dearly paid for it. But now I don’t give in as much as I did. Saying that, it doesn’t mean that I deprive myself of sweets either. Of course I indulge myself in these heavenly treats. But only as a treat. I don’t give into my temptations all the time.f5ac0aa11fe0196d_candy-eating

I don’t succeed all the time, but I do my best to stick to the plan and these tips have surely helped me.

When I get a craving, I wait for sometime. The trick is to avoid giving in at once. So, if possible, I call a friend to have a chat hoping that my cravings would be diminished by the time I finish the chat.

I read a book (I read during my free time anyway) or go online (may be Facebook. 😉 ). All what you need is some sort of a distraction.

This may sound silly, but I believe in what I do. I go online and look at all those delicious chocolate cakes. As soon as I finish it, I go and do a calorie count.

And if none of the above work,

  • Go and give in. We are humans. But you could do it in style. If I want anything chocolaty, I rather eat a dark chocolate.

Dark chocolate in moderation is actually good for you. They are full of antioxidants, which is known to help protect the body from aging (wow!!!). Dark chocolate is also known to help regulate high blood pressure, high cholesterol and helps to protect you against heart disease.

I normally go for a 70℅ dark chocolate.

The more cocoa solids your chocolate has the darker the chocolate will be.

  • Have a fruit

A fruit is ideal for any sweet craving. Some good choices would be oranges, grapes, grapefruit, watermelon, cantaloupe, and strawberries. Fruit juices are also a sweet alternative to chocolates. But without sugar please.

  • Water

Water? Yes water, and I know what you are thinking right now. But if you drink plenty of water during the day it is more likely that you will not feel hungry and will have fewer craving overall. It’s easy on the wallet too.;-)

  • Add cocoa powder

Add cocoa powder to different snacks. Like in to your yoghurt, smoothies, shakes, skim milk and coffee.

  • Cinnamon tea or coffee without sugar

Personally I have experienced that these two warm beverages have helped me to keep my sweet tooth under control. I don’t know how, but thought its worth sharing.

  • Have a little

Helping your self in to a small piece of chocolate will not certainly make a much of a difference on your scale or on your hips. Having a small piece twice a week will not do any damage. Do not eat the whole bar of chocolate or a big piece of chocolate cake. Controlling your portion sizes is the best way to go. Eat it slowly and enjoy every bite of it.

The best substitute for killing chocolate cravings — hoping you like coffee

In to your coffee, mix a little (tablespoon) of cocoa powder, a teaspoon of honey, a teaspoon of cinnamon and a zero calorie sweetener of choice.

Hope you enjoyed the article and satisfied are with the health friendly warm drink. See you soon for another happy and healthy reading time.

Kay Signature

 

like us on facebook

Mumsibles Banner

Leave a Reply

