Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

29 Apr

by Sanjee Bandara (http://skbsbooknook.wordpress.com/)

can-you-keep-a-secret-by-sophie-kinsella

So, for the last few weeks, I’ve been looking for a light read – something fun, entertaining, funny, and, if possible, with a happy ending. When I came across Can You Keep a Secret? at a book sale, I took as a sign, bought it, and began reading as soon as I got home. And, I have to admit it was good … for a bit. Okay, I’m getting a little ahead of myself … let me back track, and start from the beginning.

The premise: Emma Corrigon is flying back from Glasgow after a horrible business meeting. She has a few drinks to calm her nerves about reporting back to her office, and also to give her the strength to make it through the flight – Emma is afraid of flying. Needless to say, her worst fears about flying are realized when the plane experiences turbulence, and thinking that she will die, spills all her secrets to the man sitting next to her. On Monday morning when she returns to work, her world is further unbalanced when she learns that the man on the plane is her boss, and he knows all of her secrets!

The rest of the story, told in first person, is Emma’s struggle to make it through each day having to deal with her perfect boyfriend, who she’s having doubts about, her annoying co-workers and immediate boss, who seems set on keeping her from getting a promotion, her family, who constantly remind of how much she is not accomplishing, unlike her perfect cousin, and her lovable, but eccentric roommates, one of whom is desperately trying to marry a rich man!

The story starts of well … the characters are funny and are caricatures of people we deal with in our lives, and quite lovable. However, the plot is that of a typical soap opera, and after the  first 150 pages, I started skimming until I got to the last page, which I read completely.  It was fun to read, but the story became so predictable that I just couldn’t take much more of it.

I shouldn’t complain, as I did want something light, and funny, and entertaining, and with a some-what happy ending, which is, ultimately, what I got. I guess, I’m wishing it hadn’t been so predictable … am I expecting too much from a ‘Chick-Lit’ novel? Maybe … what do you think?

3 Responses to “Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella”

  1. S April 29, 2013 at 7:29 pm #

    I was in love with this book back when I read it! But you’re right – not much else to expect from a chick-lit. That being said, I love them anyways!

    Great review!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. When Summer Ends | A Pertinent Riot - May 10, 2013

    […] Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella (mumsibles.wordpress.com) […]

  2. Living Stylish | Fashion, Dating, Love, Relationship, LifeStyle, Health, Food, and Campus life Guide - February 6, 2014

    […] Review: Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella […]

Leave a Reply

