DVD Review – Reef 2

3 Apr

If any of you checked out Mumsibles fb page this morning you’d know that I am pretty excited about Finding Dory (The Sequel to Finding Nemo) from Disney Pixar. Finding Dory is expected to be released Summer 2015! Quite sometime away! So for ‘A Week Under the Ocean’ I’ve chosen Reef 2 as our ‘must watch’. Read on to find my review!

images

Synopsis

Trained in the skills of sea power, Pi the fish can fight a shark, sink a squid or batter any random predator that ever threatens his friends and neighbors on the reef. Unfortunately, being the only hero in town can take its toll, especially when a group of sharks declares that the end of the reef is soon at hand. http://www.imdb.com

What I thought of the Movie:

I know, I know! When you usually think of ocean themed movies, it’s usually Finding Nemo that comes up as first choice. I didn’t choose Finding Nemo for a few obvious reasons. The first being, we have kinda watched it one too many times. Plus, its kinda sad – I mean a little fish lost, thinking he might never see Daddy fish and then ends up in a fish tank. I know things get better in the end, but it can sometimes be a little bit worrisome inside tiny heads!

So, Reef 2! The colours aren’t as vibrant as the Disney Pixar production, what compensates this are the lovely characters and plot. I love the fact that it shows that ‘small creatures’ too can stand up for themselves. For me, personally, there is a lot of character in the movie and does a wonderful job of both teaching children about ocean life as well as about working in groups. Reef 2 acts as a wonderful supplement for the book I chose for the Under the Ocean Activity – Weird Sea Creatures by National Geographic Kids.

Hope you watch it too!

Here’s the trailer!

Let me know what you think of the movie!

Leave a Reply

